Three Columbia Composers to Participate in Project 19

CAA Arts Access
February 05, 2020

This year commemorates 100 years since the ratification of the 19th Amendment that granted women the right to vote.  The New York Philharmonic recently announced Project 19, a multi-season initiative to commission and premiere 19 new works by 19 women composers — the largest women-only commissioning initiative in history. The project will feature the work of three Columbia alumnae composers, Nina C. Young '17GSAS, Ellen Reid '05CC, and Mary Kouyoumdjian '17GSAS.

Project 19 was born of the conviction that an orchestra can participate in conversations about social imperatives and even change the status quo. Through Project 19, the Philharmonic can mark a “tectonic shift in American culture,” says President and CEO Deborah Borda, by giving women composers a platform and catalyzing representation in classical music and beyond. Project 19 launches in February 2020 with the first six World Premieres. The Orchestra will premiere the next two commissions in May–June 2020. 11 more premieres will follow in future seasons.

The New York Philharmonic invites Columbia alumni to join them at the upcoming select concerts below with an exclusive $19 ticket offer with promo code PROJECT19. Visit the website to learn more and to purchase tickets.

Mozart, Haydn, and Nina C. Young ‘17GSAS on February 5-11, 2020

Sound ON: Leading Voices on February 10, 2020

Brahms, Strauss, and Tania León February 13-18, 2020

Renée Fleming, Ellen Reid ‘05CC, and Bruckner February 20-22, 2020

Adams, Prokofiev, and Olga Neuwirth May 28-June 2, 2020

Mary Kouyoumdjian ‘17GSAS Concert forthcoming