Columbia Connects

Columbia Connects is an annual tradition that brings Columbia alumni together for fellowship and networking and welcomes new graduates to the community.  

This year’s event will feature a range of sessions over a period of 24 hours, “Celebrating our Cultures.” Each session is presented or introduced by a different Global Club or Shared Interest Group—and is open for all alumni to join from home!  

We invite you to take part in a variety of online programs, you can register for individual programs at the links below: 

Tuesday, December 7

This Event is Postponed:

7 p.m. EST (4 p.m. PST/1 a.m. December 8 CET)
Finding Latinx featuring Paola Ramos ’09BC and Rebecca Castillo ’94CC, ’06JRN

The Latino Alumni Association of Columbia University, Columbia Pride, and She Opened the Door present a conversation covering Paola's book published in 2020, Finding Latinx: In Search of the Voices Redefining Latino Identity.

Wednesday, December 8

8 a.m. EST (5 a.m. PST/2 p.m. CET)
Cocoa and Cheer with the CAA Board Co-Chairs

The Columbia Alumni Association Board Co-Chairs cordially invite you to a virtual "Cocoa and Cheer" Columbia Connects program, to celebrate the end of the calendar year with your favorite drink. Please join Michelle Kaiser ’87CC, ’92PH, ’97VPS and Mary Kuo ’92CC to welcome the new 2021-2020 alumni and more experienced alumni across all of Columbia University's 20 schools.

Register

9 a.m. EST (6 a.m. PST/3 p.m. CET)
It’s Showtime: Diversity in the Arts Takes Center Stage

This program explores how to promote diversity and inclusion and erase racism in all aspects of the arts—from production, casting, and financing, to training. Gregory Peterson ’73CC, ’85LAW leads the conversation with Alicia Mack ’03GS, the first woman of color to hold the long-established position of Director of Dance at the Juilliard School, and Marcia Sells ’81BC, ’84LAW, recently appointed as the first Chief Diversity Officer for the Metropolitan Opera. (Rebroadcast.)

Learn more and register

11 a.m. EST (8 a.m. PST/5 p.m. CET)
A Visit with Tom Kitt, Kwame Kwei-Armah, and Rita Pietropinto-Kitt

Pulitzer and Tony-winning composer Tom Kitt ’96CC and playwright, actor, and director Kwame Kwei-Armah, artistic director of the Young Vic Theater in London, discuss the possibilities and challenges of theater at this moment (and in the future). (Rebroadcast.)

Learn more and register

This Event is Postponed:

7 p.m. CET (1 p.m. EST/10 a.m. PST)
Cocoa and Cheer (EMEA Region)

Columbia Alumni Association (CAA) and CAA of Europe, Middle East, and Africa cordially invite you to a virtual Cocoa and Cheer Columbia Connects program to celebrate the end of the calendar year with your favorite drink. The virtual program will aim to welcome and engage the new 2021-2020 alumni and more experienced alumni across all of Columbia University's 20 schools. We will have representatives from Columbia Alumni Leaders from the EMEA region.


2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST/8 p.m. CET)
The Art of Art Collecting

Gregory Peterson ’73CC, ’85LAW will show you how to build an art collection, how to learn about new artworks, track them down and claim them as your own, and how to interface with galleries, art dealers, advisers, and artists. (Rebroadcast)

Learn more and register

This Event is Postponed:

6 p.m. EST (3 p.m. PST/Midnight Dec 9 CET)
Documenting Women: A Conversation with Betsy West and Julie Cohen

Join Academy Award-nominated directors and producers Betsy West and Julie Cohen ’89JRN as they discuss their latest films: Julia, examining the life of cook Julia Child, and My Name is Pauli Murray, profiling activist Pauli Murray.


6:30 p.m. EST (3:30 p.m. PST/12:30 a.m. Dec 9 CET)
Baking Spirits Bright: Mascarpone Mini Cheesecakes with Chef Tom Lo

Chef Thomas E. Lo '08VPS will share his expertise on the sweeter points of dessert creation. Together, we'll make and enjoy his signature Italian Mascarpone mini cheesecakes.

Register

6:30 p.m. EST (3:30 p.m. PST/12:30 a.m. Dec 9 CET)
The Radical Vaudeville of Bert Williams, Eva Tanguay, and Julian Eltinge

Columbia Journalism School Professor David Hajdu and Artist John Carey explore how three vaudeville stars defied the standards of their time to change how their audiences thought about what it meant to be American, to be Black, to be a woman or a man, an eye-opening account of a key moment in American cultural history with striking parallels to present-day questions of race, gender, and sexual identity.

Learn more and register

This Event is Postponed:

7 p.m. EST (4 p.m. CST/1 a.m. December 9 CET)
Columbia Connects with Fairfield Connecticut

Join the Columbia University Club of Fairfield County and alumni from across the tri-state area for Columbia Connects 2021! Don't miss this chance to interact with fellow alumni and share stories with family and friends.


This Event is Postponed:

8 p.m. EST (5 p.m. CST/2 a.m. December 9 CET)
LAACU Interactive Discussion with Marina Reyes Franco from the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Puerto Rico (MAC)

Interactive talk with Marina Reyes Franco, curator of the exhibition El momento del yagrumo (The Moment of the Yagrumo), an exhibition that examines three central themes: the rights of nature; sovereignty and resistance; and the recovery of knowledge through artisan practices incorporated into contemporary art practices by artists located in the Caribbean and the Americas. 


This Event is Postponed:

6 p.m. PST (9 p.m. EST/3 a.m. December 9 CET)
Cocoa and Cheer (West Coast)

Columbia Alumni Association (CAA) and the Columbia Clubs of the West Coast cordially invite you to a virtual Cocoa and Cheer Columbia Connects program to celebrate the end of the calendar year with your favorite drink. The virtual program will aim to welcome and engage the new 2021-2020 alumni and more experienced alumni across all of Columbia University's 20 schools. We will have representatives from Columbia Alumni Leaders from across the West Coast.


Lunar Gala Performance 2020

Virtually experience Chinese culture with the Columbia University Lion Dance student group. Columbia University Lion Dance performs a high-energy dance form based on kung fu. Its goal is to promote knowledge of Chinese traditional dance for both the on-and off-campus community. View the recording of a performance from a 2020 Lunar New Year celebration. 

Watch Video